When do Upgrades / Upsell Fairy Opportunities Usually Happen?

Hi!

I'm relatively new to sailing HAL, but leave in three weeks on the Rotterdam out of Tampa.

I'm in an oceanview cabin on the dolphin deck. :o:o:o We have two young children, so we typically book balcony cabins when cruising, since they go to sleep early and we can have a place to go and chill/read/watch movies on the iPad, etc.

When reserving this, all cabins that would hold 4 people were sold out except for the Neptune Suite (which was about $10k more than our OV). Not a big deal, I'm happy with the price we paid for our OV.

But I'm keeping the hope alive that there may be some cancellations and a different cabin could come available. Unfortunately when I called today to confirm a crib for our cabin, she mentioned the agent at HAL that made the reservation noted "no upgrades" on our reservation. I was pretty surprised and didn't understand why this would be?!

She did say that HAL doesn't typically look to upgrade or upsell anyone until about two weeks prior to sailing, so it's not a big deal.

Just wondering if this has been the case for others?

Either way, we'll have a great cruise but I'm still keeping my fingers crossed...

Hi!

I'm relatively new to sailing HAL, but leave in three weeks on the Rotterdam out of Tampa.

I'm in an oceanview cabin on the dolphin deck. :o:o:o We have two young children, so we typically book balcony cabins when cruising, since they go to sleep early and we can have a place to go and chill/read/watch movies on the iPad, etc.

When reserving this, all cabins that would hold 4 people were sold out except for the Neptune Suite (which was about $10k more than our OV). Not a big deal, I'm happy with the price we paid for our OV.