Texting at sea question

We are leaving my son at home with either Grandma or a babysitter while we cruise to Alaska. He's a teen and has his own phone. If I'm understanding correctly, I can call him if I am in port in Alaska at no charge. However, I'd like to text him daily just to check in. I looked up the costs on Sprint.com, and it looks like texts are only .50 cents each. Here's my question, and sorry if it's stupid. I'm not very tech savvy. If I take my phone off of airplane mode while I'm at sea in order to text him, I will probably instantly get flooded with texts, notifications and emails. Will I be charged for those or only if I actually open them and read them?

We are leaving my son at home with either Grandma or a babysitter while we cruise to Alaska. He's a teen and has his own phone. If I'm understanding correctly, I can call him if I am in port in Alaska at no charge. However, I'd like to text him daily just to check in. I looked up the costs on Sprint.com, and it looks like texts are only .50 cents each. Here's my question, and sorry if it's stupid. I'm not very tech savvy. If I take my phone off of airplane mode while I'm at sea in order to text him, I will probably instantly get flooded with texts, notifications and emails. Will I be charged for those or only if I actually open them and read them?

Depending on what type of phone you have you can turn off cellular data separately from airplane mode so you can receive SMS messages but yes a back log of Texts will come in I believe. Along with that depending on your phone you can turn the frequency that your phone searches for emails to only search when you manually tell it to. Your phone will also search for voicemails and from what I have read in the past you will also get roaming charges for that.