Elated we finally gave Carnival a shot - Elation, Feb 16, 2019 review

bostongal965

About us: my DH & I are both 53, and this was our tenth cruise, first on Carnival. We are platinum on NCL, and sailed once on Royal's Enchantment of the Seas (liked it just fine, and would sail on RCCL again if the price and itinerary were right). Anyway, we were reluctant to try Carnival for the usual reasons people say. However, we both had so many friends who had sailed Carnival and loved it! We were looking at a warm location getaway for February - I'm a teacher and so I don't have a lot of leeway in dates and driving to a port is more budget-friendly for us. It seemed like all the NCL choices were all 7 day cruises to places we've been numerous times out of ports that were a full day's drive away...so, I started exploring what Carnival had to offer.  I was pleasantly surprised to see that Carnival offers 3 - 5 day cruises out of ports a little closer to us, and we decided to give the Carnival Elation 5 day to Nassau a shot.  We like to pre-pay as much as possible, so we pre-paid gratuities and bought the Cheers program. I did not prepay the spa or excursion we did, since they were kind of last minute decisions, but I love that the option is there.

Embarkation - Jacksonville: Holy moly, this was, by far, the easiest embarkation we've ever done. Getting to the port - easy. Setting up the on-board account - easy. Getting on the ship - easy. We arrived a little early, and went to the longer line, but we were still on the ship in 30 minutes or so. Really pleased with Carnival on this one.

Muster: I wouldn't normally review the muster drill, but this was so much easier and a lot more fun than any others, so I thought it deserved a shout-out.