World Cruise segments

cruiser3775

I'm new to cruising, and thinking of a long cruise next northern hemisphere summer. I like the look of some of the world cruises,  but would like to only do a segment of maybe 30 days. Can I do that? Can I choose an embarkation port and a disembarkation port, and just buy that section of a very long cruise? 

Usually, yes.  I'd find a travel agent who's a cruise expert and work with them.  If you haven't cruised much, the advice and guidance you'll receive will really make a great difference to your enjoyment.  Be pro-active and 'vet' anyone you want to work with to be sure that they know what they're doing. 

Edited by jsn55
change an adjective

5 minutes ago, cruiser3775 said:

I'm new to cruising, and thinking of a long cruise next northern hemisphere summer. I like the look of some of the world cruises,  but would like to only do a segment of maybe 30 days. Can I do that? Can I choose an embarkation port and a disembarkation port, and just buy that section of a very long cruise? 

Cruise lines often do sell segments of their world cruises, but the cruise line defines what the starting and ending points of the segments are. You don't get to set your own itinerary.

For example I'm booked on the Oceania Insignia world cruise starting in January 2024, which has 10 or 11 different segments that can be booked.

• Like 2

14 minutes ago, cruiser3775 said:

I'm looking at a 107 day world cruise. How do I find out what the segments are?

You'll find it on the cruise line's website. Their booking engines allow you to set criteria to identify the cruises you want to  consider.

For example, let's say the world cruise you're looking at starts January 1 and ends April 17 . Search on the cruise line's website for all cruises on that ship that start in the months of January, February, March and April. If any segments are available they will show up as cruises that you can book during those months.

Edited by njhorseman
  • Like 2