Fjords: Cunard v P&O

buchanan101

Having a browse round cruises from Cunard and P&O for the fjords next summer with a view to booking 2024 when cruises are released.

PG suites on QV and around £5700. Suites on P&O are about £3700 (though full fare is £4600)

How different is the experience? Really liked QM2 QG recently, and the P&O cruises seem to be on Britannia or similar crowded monsters and their adult only cruises are Norway + Iceland

I'm still leaning towards Cunard grills. P&O cabins look bland, but their suites look better proportioned than Cunard PG so QG may be a better comparison (about £6700). And there doesn't seem to be any Grills type dining on P&O

As you can tell, I'm new to all this with just the one QM2 crossing under my belt. I do like the Cunard interiors, but have heard that P&O are one of the more classic alternative lines?

3 minutes ago, Bell Boy said:

You would be completely out of your mind if you took P&O 'Britannia' over Cunard 'Queen Victoria' 

P&O Britannia v Cunard  Poles apart , Understated elegance as opposed to a crowded Monster 😉

Kind of what I was thinking...trying to justify the 50%+ premium for Cunard.

Loved the space on the QM2 - couldn't believe how uncrowded it was (maybe that was partly a Grills thing - but that's only really the restaurant on the QM2, but the whole ship seemed so quiet and it was supposedly at 2500 passengers). Guessing the QV doesn't seem quite as roomy...?

Of course, there is the P&O Iona that does the fjords...makes Britannia look like the QV I reckon

18 minutes ago, exlondoner said:

QV always seems pretty spacious to me. If you were able to find something on Aurora or Arcadia, those are much more like Cunard, I believe. Indeed Arcadia was going to be a Cunarder.

Great, thanks for the tip!

13 minutes ago, Host Hattie said:

There are no special dining arrangements for suites on P&O so you need to pay extra for decent food at the added cost restaurants.