Sunscreen

If it is sunny, it is rarely a bad idea to use sunscreen. And even if you don't bring sunscreen, it should be fairly easy to find from local stores in the cities you visit.

• Like 2

Sunscreen is a must - everywhere and every weather if you care about your skin, and not just cosmetically but skin cancers. I am a physician and have patients who grew up in southern California in the "lay on the beach" days and are now having skin cancers removed. Should be part of a morning skin routine and more often for water and prolonged exposure.

• Like 2

Yes, you have to remember that in the summer earth's northern areas are leaning towards the sun making the sunlight extra strong. Then you have to take the sunlight reflections from the water into account and add that to the equation as well. So yes, sunscreen is a must if you intend the stay in the sun more then a few minutes.

• Like 3

In the summer, there is plenty of daylight, and depending on the weather, there may be sun. If there is sun, and you are prone to sunburn or concerned about UV exposure, then you will need sunscreen.

I typically wear a light sunscreen daily in the summer (or carry it in my purse), since you never know when the weather forecast is going to be wrong. (I also use a light GoreTex jacket as my daily outer layer for similar reasons.) The weather changes all the time, so it's easier to just always be prepared.

• Like 1

On 5/20/2023 at 2:24 PM, queen_kathy1 said:

Do you recommend we pack sunscreen for our Norway fjord cruise this summer?  We likely will, but just wondering if it's really needed.

Sunscreen should be applied daily is our dermatologists recommendation regardless if it's sunny out or not.  In an efforts to save room in our bags, we buy essentials like this while in port.

• Like 2

8 hours ago, PLee said: