LIVE from the Horizon - July 8 - 16 - We’re finally back at sea!

LauraS
This post was recognized by LauraS!

"Congrats on your first "Live from..." Thanks for generously sharing your time at sea with everyone at Cruise Critic!"

PrincessArlena'sDad was awarded the badge '"Live from...."'

Hello all!  This is my first attempt at a LIVE trip report.  It may have something to do with the fact that this will be the first cruise where we’ve gotten a wi-if package.  Hopefully it goes well, and, more importantly, you all enjoy following along with us.

I am writing this from the comfort of a wonderfully comfortable bed at the Hyatt, Dania Beach, with Guy’s Diners and Dives playing on the TV. But, let’s go back in time a bit before going forward from here.

In August 2019 we booked a Journeys cruise on the Radiance out of NYC.  9 nights.  Over the course of the next 6 months I diligently racked up Allstate rewards points to purchase discounted gift cards to pay for it.  And you all know what happened.  So, I had thousands of dollars in Carnival gift cards sitting in my desk for 3 years.  But, I really can’t complain too much, with the 11% ROI from the Allstate discount, those cards sitting in my desk made me more money than any other account since 2020. (Isn’t that a great silver lining?)

So there are 5 of us going. My wife and I, college age daughter, and two sons (14 and 11).  We debated between two cabins or the family harbor suite.  We settled on the suite. It saved quite a bit of money over 2 cabins, we get the suite perks, we have the 2 bathrooms, and we really don’t spend that much time in the cabins anyway.  They’re mostly for sleeping.  It will be our first cove balcony, and we’re looking forward to that!

I thought about leaving you in suspense, and surprising you with what port we were in.  But, I figured, A, many of you already know, and B, you might be interested in a particular port or excursion we’re doing. So, here it goes: