How crowded are HAL ships?

I have been on two Celebrity cruises. Both times the venues sometimes seemed crowded. I have been on two HAL cruises but not in several years but I believe they didn’t ever seem crowded. We are going to Alaska in early May. TIA for any opinions. 

I'm not an expert like most of the folks who post here - I've been on 3  HAL cruises, each one on a different pinnacle class ship. Prior to HAL, we've cruised on Princess twice and Royal Caribbean once. RC was the worst for crowds. It was a much bigger ship (Allure of the Seas), but oh my goodness, it was often chaotic. I recall spending a lot of time wandering around trying to find a good spot to lounge in the sun. The public areas were packed. Disembarkation was so tedious.

HAL, on the other hand, has never been like that. Granted, we were only on pinnacle ships, which are larger. I don't know if it's because HAL's demographic usually means fewer children running around, or if there's something about their space ratio, but the vibe is so much more calm and relaxing. Once we switched, we've never looked back. We are looking forward to boarding the Rotterdam again a week from now.

• Like 11

Generally speaking, I have found the Pinnacle Class ships more crowded than the other classes.

Keep in mind I am talking in terms of HAL.  None of the ships are usually crowded except at a peak time like Christmas, spring break, etc when there are bound to be more families and children (which add to the count).

• Like 3