Photographers - please help!

I am a novice photographer. I have a Canon Rebel 3i that I love. I have the basic lens and have learned how to use most of the standard settings. For our cruise, I would like to get a new lens that has more zoom power. For example, I would like to be able to zoom in for glacier photos at Hubbard Glacier or get closer shots on our whale watchint tour in Juneau. Could you recommend a new lens for me? I'd like something that won't break the budget and that can handle taking photos from a moving cruise ship or a bumpy excursion ship.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Check out this site

http://www.dpreview.com/

They have a lot of info on lenses. Also, if you go on the specific forums, you can ask your question of people own the type of camera that you have, You might also post your question on the Travel Photography forum. I should point out that many of the people on DP do not look kindly on identical multiple posts of the same message so pick you best forum and give it a shot.

DON

I use a Canon T2i and I have a couple of "L" lenses but I like the Tamron AF 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 as a walk around do everything lens. When I can I carry my bag with all 5 of my lenses but sometimes that is not possible. Around $450 at Amazon.

I use a Canon T2i and I have a couple of "L" lenses but I like the Tamron AF 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 as a walk around do everything lens. When I can I carry my bag with all 5 of my lenses but sometimes that is not possible. Around $450 at Amazon.

This is the same lens that my wife uses on her Nikon 5100. She loves it and doesn't use the other lens that came with her camera bundle.

My wife made a slideshows from the pictures she took on our Alaska southbound cruise last August and posted them on her website. If you are interested in seeing them you can click on the link below. She took some amazing shots of the Hubbard Glacier as it "calved" and humpback whales in Juneau and Icy Strait Point (Hoonah) as well as bears.