Hits and misses on Anthem of the Seas

I’m a couple of days from completing our 9 day trip out of Bayonne to Bermuda, St. Maartin, San Juan and Labadee, and wanted to share some thoughts about the cruise. I’ll do a full review later, but since we’re out at sea right now I’ve got some time to put some thoughts down. As a bit of background, we’ve sailed RCI a few times (Sovereign, Vision, Anthem), but have more recently been on NCL ships to the Caribbean (Epic) and Alaska (Jewel). This is my first time on a RCI “mega-ship”, and a lot of my opinions are in comparison to my experience on the NCL ships, especially the Epic. This trip is fairly full (from what I understand, about 5k pax) which could be impacting our experience as well. We are also the trip where the 8yo boy was found in the pool, prompting a return to Bayonne on the first day, but that’s a totally separate issue that doesn’t impact our review of RCI or the ship. So here goes…

Overall it’s been a great trip. The ship is beautiful and there are lots of things to do. The Solarium is fantastic, and the pools/tubs there combined with the large indoor and outdoor pools give you plenty of pools space. This is a marked improvement over the small pools on the Epic, but in its defense, the Epic had the great water slides that the Quantum class ships are lacking. We also love the Seaplex and all that it provides. The kids loved the bumper cars, roller skating, basketball games, parties, soccer matches, etc. that take place there. Great, great idea, RCI. The ping pong, foosball and xbox areas are a great addition there (except half the xbox stations were broken), as was the hotdog stand. Thumbs up.