Viator Tours

I just booked a full day tour with Viator. We will be arriving two days early into Hong Kong for our cruise in February. I know this company is owned by Trip Advisor, but just wondered if anyone has had any good or bad experiences with them? This is my first time using them.

Sent from my iPad using Forums

If you look on the Ports boards, there are many comments on Viator.

General summary- usually great prices, but customer service issues reaching vendors when there is a problem (this reflects our experience as well, we now only deal with actual vendors.)

Viator is a broker, not an actual vendor- they don't provide the actual tour. They take your money, and contract with a local vendor. Reaching this local vendor when there is an issue can be troublesome.

But if price is your only motivator...

Viator is a booking agency, not a tour operator.

So the quality of the tours they sell is pretty variable & depends on the actual operator rather than on Viator.

If you are prepared to trawl the web to find it, you can book exactly the same tour direct with the tour operator for a lower cost. But Viator is a large & reputable international organisation, and booking through them you can be sure that you're not going to be scammed, and that if something goes wrong they will reimburse. As you will appreciate, getting recompense from an unknown local operator in another country thousands of miles from home is rather more difficult.

We've only used Viator once, by co-incidence in Hong Kong.

This was for a day-trip to Guangzhou (Canton) in mainland China. It included a group Chinese visa, and for that reason full payment was required with a direct booking, same as it always is with Viator bookings. So for the peace of mind,we opted to book through Viator.

More expensive than booking direct, but not by much - Viator get their profit from a combination of higher price from the customer and bulk discount from the operator.

Couldn't fault them.