FLL to Port of Miami - Uber?

Let me start by saying I'm an UBER NEWBIE!!!  Have the app and created an account, just never used it!

We don't often sail out of Miami because we usually get better flight deals to FLL.  This next cruise we need to get from FLL to Port of Miami.

Is there an advantage to use an UBER vs just getting in the taxi stand?  We are 2 adults and 2 teens and will have 4 large suitcases.

When would you arrange the ride - in advance, when the plan arrives or when you get your luggage?

Thanks!

I used Uber for the first time at FLL.  I booked the ride after I got my luggage.  The driver was there quickly.  I think the advantage is that it is less expensive than a taxi and you know up front what you are paying.  I have used taxis and don't have a problem with them, it's just nice knowing up front what my ride will cost and paying less with Uber.

Edited by TNcruising02
  • Like 1

You're going to need an UberXL with 4 people and 4 large suitcases. So price will be around the same as a taxi. But I would still prefer Uber. Taxi service is usually horrible, and they still try to overcharge or take you on a longer route. Uber can't do that. 

You request your ride by plugging in your destination when you walk out of baggage claim. There are Uber pick up areas at each terminal at FLL. 

1 hour ago, Queen of Oakville said:

I just googled and see that there is a tip option.  I'm not sure where I got that you don't tip an uber driver.  Maybe I'm thinking that no cash changes hands.

Uber was non-tipping for a long time, the tip option is relatively new.  It'll ask you to tip after your ride.

• Like 1

I definitely prefer using Uber or Lyft over a taxi. They are usually very nice cars/suv's and you know ahead of time what the cost will be. 

You might want to download Lyft as well to compare prices. I have found about 90% of the time they are cheaper than Uber. 😉