Viking air question

OnTheJourney

I've been looking at options for an air itinerary for the January Chairman's inaugural cruise. Viking has offered us complimentary economy air (PHL to FCO), but I'd like to upgrade. Through the premium air desk, I'm being quoted a business class rate of $3,898.50 pp. and am also told that if I decide to cancel or not go on the trip, all is refunded except $350 pp. I'm finding - through my own research - air costs of only $2740 pp out of EWR - significantly cheaper. I was also told that changing the already scheduled economy itinerary from departing out of PHL to EWR incurs a "deviation" fee that can range from $100-300 pp. There are also date changes involved from what they assigned me so I imagine that might be an additional fee, or else might be included as part of the deviation (?)  I have no experience whatsoever with Viking air so have no idea how quickly these charges add up. If I book my own air, I know what I have. 

With uncertainties of travel being what they are, I'm just not sure how to proceed. I learned today that Nationwide has policies designed primarily for cruises whereby CFAR (cancel for any reason) is allowed without the usual stipulation of having to purchase insurance within a specified number of days after initial payment. I had no idea such a thing existed. Of course, like many CFAR clauses, the policy only refunds 75%. Thoughts on which option might be best? I like to have my own control over airline flights and seating and so hardly ever purchase air through a travel company.