NCL trip insurance vs. Brand X

ChiefMateJRK

I'm a novice when it comes to trip insurance, but have followed several recent discussions.  This is a question specific to NCL's coverage.   I just mocked a cruise for this fall.  NCL's standard insurance is $238, including a FCC 75% cancel for any reason (CFAR).  The insurance fee would be payable upon final payment in June.  I plugged the same info into tripinsurancestore.com.  The cheapest fee for "due at final payment" insurance is $233, and doesn't include any CFAR coverage.  The NCL insurance seems like a no-brainer without further research/education.  What am I missing?  Thanks.

43 minutes ago, ChiefMateJRK said:

I'm a novice when it comes to trip insurance, but have followed several recent discussions.  This is a question specific to NCL's coverage.   I just mocked a cruise for this fall.  NCL's standard insurance is $238, including a FCC 75% cancel for any reason (CFAR).  The insurance fee would be payable upon final payment in June.  I plugged the same info into tripinsurancestore.com.  The cheapest fee for "due at final payment" insurance is $233, and doesn't include any CFAR coverage.  The NCL insurance seems like a no-brainer without further research/education.  What am I missing?  Thanks.

If you don't want or wouldn't use an NCL FCC, then an insurance plan that will pay in cash is more useful.  I personally don't buy CFAR plans, but do get ones that will pay 100% for medical or work reasons.  In addition, since I often combine a cruise with additional travel or an extended stay in a port city (booked on my own), it makes more sense for me to cover the entire vacation rather than just the cruise portion.

• Like 1