Solo advance booking or last minute?

opuscat1

So I'm newly divorced and retired in my 50's.   I'll be a first time snowbird in south eastern Florida from Jan-Mar so far.   I was looking at some sailings Apr 1 from any Florida ports to start with.   As a Canadian and kinda price sensitive (see divorce above LOL) would I be better off just waiting to see what's available more last minute than prebooking anything.  I've never been able to do last minute before so I've got no experience.   I did find one that wasn't a bad price in Canadian dollars but I'm really not that fussy on ports or anything like that  I'm very open to hopping on anything but would like drinks-tips etc included too perhaps.  I want it allllll is that possible LOL.   Any advice is greatly appreciated ...

I've booked 1 1/2 years ahead and 9 days ahead.  I just look for good prices where I want to go.  

But generally you get the best deals after the final payment time. ( usually 90 to 120 days ahead)

That is when quite a few people decide they can't do the cruise and cabins open up.

• Like 3

Hi, I have been sailing solo for 20 years now and I think if you find an itinerary and price you are good with, book it. I usually book in advance and it always gives me something to look forward to😀

• Like 1

I guess a good time might be if there cruise line you're looking at is running a single supplement promo.

Cuz I am going on my first cruise and by myself on a VV cruise in beginning of November and I booked couple weeks ago while they had no single supplement on double occupancy rooms sale and got a central sea terrace for $1320 (normally $2640) while a single occupancy ocean view was $1485.

I get motion sick so I specifically need certain kind of rooms. So those are the only two I was looking at. 

Edited by ineedmore1337sauce
Trying to make more sense