Carnival Vacation Protection vs. other trip insurance

MistyRo76

Hello all! Just booked a cruise for October and am looking at insurance options. I am rather new to the trip protection game! Took my 19th Carnival cruise last October and it was the first time that I purchased Carnival's Vacation Protection. I was a young (mostly) and dumb traveler before and thought nothing could possibly happen. But since COVID plus having had multiple I've traveled with need to visit the infirmary for illness/injury, or having had friends/family need to cancel cruises for a multitude of reasons over the last few years, I've opened my eyes to the importance of it. For my last cruise, I just purchased Carnival's Vacation Protection, plus individual trip protection from the airlines for my flights. 

This time around, I want to look at other vendors for insurance. But there are a ton of options out there. For those that have used both Carnival's Vacation Protection and purchased insurance through other vendors, what have you found to be the biggest differences between them? How has pricing compared? Anything particular I should look out for when purchasing third party insurance? I should also note that we are driving to the port, so we don't have to worry about refunds on flights if we have to cancel. Our main out of pocket costs that should be covered are the cruise itself and our pre-cruise accommodations. 

Any tips, recommendations would be much appreciated! 

Other companies tend to be more comprehensive, and you can include things like your airfare/travel to and from the cruise, anything you've booked separately yourself outside of Carnival. They tend to be less expensive and/or a better value than what the cruise line offers. If you go third party, just make sure that it specifically covers cruise vacations and covid related cancellations/expenses as not all regular policies do.

43 minutes ago, MistyRo76 said: