Extra fee to pick your own room has gotten ridiculous - time to move on?

Fares are already really high now! Now they're throwing gasoline on to the fire. I've been pricing cruises online for the 2025 season and have noticed the remarkable increase in price to be able to pick your own room. For instance today I mock-booked a balcony cabin on Adventure for May 16, 2025 and the price is $395 higher to be able to pick your own room. That's a lot of "insurance" to ensure you are not bumped from a cruise from the rampant over booking that cruise lines are doing now. I guess it's time to look at other alternative vacations to do. Hopefully all this price gouging the cruise lines are doing will reduce demand, so the prices come back down.

• Like 11
  • Thanks 1
  • Haha 4

"rampant overbooking"?

"bumping insurance"?

Really doesn't seem to be much change in pricing for the last 4-5 years to me

I would temper your expectations for pricing on your alternative vacation options; everything I have looked at recently is much more expensive than 12-18 months ago.

• Like 7

13 minutes ago, not-enough-cruising said:

Really doesn't seem to be much change in pricing for the last 4-5 years to me

I'm pricing cruises all the time and I see significant differences. I have a spread sheet with all the cruises we've taken with all costs. And now, more recently I'm seeing a big jump to be able to pick your own cabin. Quite a few people are now getting bumped from their cruises (not picking their own cabin), according to cruising news sources and RCI seems to have more than other lines. Evidently this happens quite often in the weeks leading up to a cruise but was brought to light when the group of folks got bumped from their cruise in Australia last minute. Aussie couple's 'holiday ruined' as they're bumped from cruise just before departure (yahoo.com)

Edited by 2chiefs
  • Like 6

3 minutes ago, smokeybandit said:

Since when is there a fee to pick your own room?