What would you do?

Drumbeat16

Posted (edited)

I'd appreciate some thoughts on my current dilemma from all you experienced cruisers. 😊.

I am a novice cruiser and have previously suffered seasickness on smaller vessels (one was a Hurtigruten ship). I have only been on 2 short cruises and was 100% fine.

We are booked on the QM2 from Hong Kong to Southampton in 2026, currently in a mid-aft balcony cabin on deck 8. I have just spotted an option to upgrade to a guaranteed A2 balcony club cabin for a very reasonable AUD$35 per night per cabin. However, the A2 cabins on the Queen Mary are forward cabins on Deck 12 and 13 - shall I risk the chance of increased movement and possible seasickness???

Your thoughts are appreciated.

Edited by Drumbeat16

QM2? You would be fine. She is very different from those Norwegian tubs.  Maybe the occasional lurch but I have been in two Storm Force 10 events with QM2, one of which I slept through, and I only found out because the pilot wasn't prepared to board in those conditions. Very good price for a Club upgrade.

• Like 1

18 minutes ago, Pushpit said:

QM2? You would be fine. She is very different from those Norwegian tubs.  Maybe the occasional lurch but I have been in two Storm Force 10 events with QM2, one of which I slept through, and I only found out because the pilot wasn't prepared to board in those conditions. Very good price for a Club upgrade.

Thank you, I have read lots of comments regarding QM2's stability so I'm thinking I could take a chance. My husband is a good sailor so it's up to me really 🤔

1 hour ago, Drumbeat16 said:

I'd appreciate some thoughts on my current dilemma from all you experienced cruisers. 😊.

I am a novice cruiser and have previously suffered seasickness on smaller vessels (one was a Hurtigruten ship). I have only been on 2 short cruises and was 100% fine.