Which cruise line would you recommend for Mediterranean cruise

Pomcoach

My husband has just surprised me by saying we should take a Mediterranean cruise around October 2015. I've been teaching for 30 years, and we'll be celebrating my retirement and also our 40th Anniversary.

We've sailed Carnival 3 times and will take a short cruise on Norwegian this summer, but we've never ventured to Europe. Rome is on my bucket list, (has been since age 12 or so.) I also took French in college and enjoy hearing the language spoken, so I'd love to visit a French speaking area somewhere.

Our anniversary is in October, but if that's a bad time to cruise, we certainly could plan for another time of year. We also have a daughter we like to visit in Florida, and wouldn't mind sailing from Florida or disembarking in Florida, if that's even possible. Thank you for any help. I'm so excited, even though it's a long way off.

So here's my questions:

1. Which cruise line do you think we should look into? We will both be about 62 at that time.

2. Is October a bad time to cruise in the Mediterranean as far as bad weather or too crowded?

We think spring or fall-first couple of weeks in October, are perfect. It has been our choice for the past several years.

I would first determine where you would like to go-east, west Med or both. Perhaps look at the various port stops. Also consider cities of embarkation and debarkation since you may want to spend pre/post cruise days there. Get it narrowed down and then go from there based on what cruise lines/ships meet you itinerary requirements.

Edited by iancal

We have been crusing in the Mediterranean since l989 or so, lost count on how many cruises, including Transatlantics with Mediterranean ports. We have done western and eastern Mediterranean and are still going becuase it is all wonderful. We leave on the Celebrity Silhouette in October of this year from Rome.