Choice Air or book flight independently

bobbye7

My daughter and I are going on our first cruise Feb. 2015. We haven't made a final decision yet but we're leaning toward a Princess Caribbean cruise. The travel agent quoted their airfare price about $30 higher than I found online. I like the idea that the cruise line will take care of getting you to the ship on time, etc., but I've read other threads where they've changed people's schedules at the last minute or given you really bad times to fly.I also read that most cruisers do not take the package deals, but opt to make reservations themselves. Now I'm really confused.

Congrats on your upcoming cruise, hope it's a great trip.

Now, your air question. I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination but will pass along what I do know. Last summer we did the British Isles with Princess and also used their air but first I went online and found the flights we were interested in taking as we wanted to fly United. They were able to schedule these flights for us and as an extra bonus, if we paid for the air portion that day we got a great discount but it was non-refundable I think. All worked out perfect, we got our air as wanted.

Fast forward to now.... We travel a lot and don't do many big ship cruises, more independent travel and we love river cruises in Europe, that said, we leave next Wednesday for Barcelona for 3 nights and the following Sunday we board a ship for a med cruise. We booked our own air for the flexibility and we are flying Air France so we can stay in Paris on our return. Right now Air France is on a pilot strike. Supposedly 9/15-9/22 but there is a possibility it will extend to the 29th. AF can not or will not rebook us on one of their SkyTeam partners until the 23rd IF our flight is cancelled and that's only if the US portion is cancelled so here we sit. Had we booked with the cruise line I think we'd have had more leverage and they would go to bat for us. Of course I don't know.