Live: A grouch's Veendam Hawaii cruise, January 2015.

whogo

P { margin-bottom: 0.08in; }We will see if I can do another live cruise thread. It depends how my internet minutes and my mood hold up. If you are looking for news of my interaction with the captain, you won't find it here. I am never sure which one is the captain. Want descriptions of the Neptune Lounge? We aren't entitled. Want to hear beautiful descriptions of exotic ports? If only I had the ability! This ain't literachur. Want lavish praise of the hard working cruise? I am not good at gushing.

I have never had a bad cruise, but as a pessimist I always expect the worst. The advantage of being a pessimist is that things always turn out better than feared. Our flights did not arrive late or go down in flames. I even had a delicious in flight meal (that I brought from home). It's great! Things may continue to go well, but I will post anything that does not as long as I can remain anonymous. I am not looking for special treatment, good or bad.

Everyone else on board will have a different cruise than I do. I am bound to have a better cruise than my wife as I have a better traveling companion than she does. If you want honest, biased opinions that does not sound like HAL marketing, stay tuned. If not, get out now, you were warned. If you want rainbows and unicorns, I can post a spoiler.

Woke up January 20, 2015 to find the Veendam parked outside my room at the Wyndham. Parked? You won't hear nautical terms either, I am from the prairie. It was a short walk with wheeled luggage to the pier and a mass of humanity. Everyone arrived at 11:30. The hoard was handled efficiently and we boarded to find our room ready and in good shape. After a massive breakfast at the Boar's Head I was not ready for our regular Mariner's lunch in the dining room. We had a light meal at a surprisingly civilized, uncrowded buffet where it seemed all the staff were named “Lido”, there were many missing name tags.