Postpone Cruise - Family Emergency

landlady1952

Asking for a friend and I have no experience with HAL. Family group are booked for an Alaskan cruise that leaves in 3 weeks. Was cruise for dads 80th birthday. Unfortunately he has taken ill and is in ICU. Would HAL allow group to postpone/ rebook for a later date? They are not going to ask for refunds but rather just rebook when dad is better and able to enjoy cruise. Does anyone think this is possible or have any experience in a matter like this. They do not have trip insurance and involves 12 people. Thank you

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I don't want to be the bearer of bad news especially with everything you are going through, but without insurance your friend stands to lose a good bit of money by canceling. The closer it is the sail date the less money gets returned to you. They may already be in the timeframe where it is 100%. I doubt very seriously the cruise line will rebook without penalty. Never hurts to call the cruise line though. The worst they can say is, "no we can't give your money back or rebook the cruise." [emoji852]️

Sent from my iPad using Forums mobile app

It never hurts to ask, but your friend should have every expectation that they say no. It has nothing to do with being unkind or uncaring, but everything to do with the agreement between the passengers and the line. Booking and making that final payment, the rules are clear about what happens in the event of a cancellation. And even though 'they just want to move it, not cancel', this IS a cancellation. Anything the cruise line chooses to offer should be considered a gift.

I hope the medical situation improves quickly.

I was hoping the rebooking angle might help but guess we will see. Told her to start calling and asking. Hoping for the best for them.

This is the reason DH and I never travel without at least cancellation insurance ... and these days based on his medical history we also do "pre-existing condition" on top of that.