At What Age do you Feel it's Safe to Let Your Kids Roam (Allure esp.)?

ginadv

Hi All!

Super newbie here--I believe this is my second post (my first was on my roll call) and I have a question for veteran cruisers with kids. Our girls will be on the older end of 10, 12, and 14 (they all have April birthdays) when we sail on the Allure in mid-February.

Obviously this is a very personal decision and one that relates to one's own comfort levels and parenting styles, but I wanted to see if there's a general rule of thumb with regard to letting kids fly solo aboard the ship.

I'm not sure how much time my kids will want to spend in Adventure Ocean--my 10 year old will definitely be into it (social butterfly!), but the older two are a bit more reserved. I believe they will be able to be in the same age group, so that may help. But beyond the kids' clubs, how do people feel about giving their kids a bit of free range time?

I'm apprehensive for primarily two reasons--one, the possibility of pitching themselves overboard (I know, that's dumb, but that's sometimes where a mother's brain goes!), and two, the thought of one of them getting pulled into a cabin by some pervert (Obviously also very unlikely for several reasons and besides, I would never allow either of the two older girls roam without her sister; safety in numbers).

The Allure is ginormous and we won't have cell phones (though I'm sure my husband will want to bring the walkie talkies we use when we're skiing) and I know you can leave one another messages on stateroom phones from house phones, which is a good method of communication.

What's the going wisdom, folks? What do you all do? I think my girls would appreciate a bit of freedom and I think it would make it more relaxing for everyone if they wanted to go to the pool and we didn't, for instance. I'd love some insight here.