Snorkel Equipment

Mommags123

Hi there.

We are cruising on the Navigator of the Seas in March 2019 to the ABC islands.

We have some excursions planned but plan to do some "on our own" sight seeing of beaches.

The kids ( 20 year old and 26 year old) have expressed an interest in snorkeling but not that we want to do a snorkeling excursion...

Like they may want to do it for an hour or so at each island.

So we can buy 2 snorkel sets and take turns....  Or somebody said you can rent them on board.

Does anybody have any information about what they charge? Is it per day ? And or do they sell it on board?

Or ( sorry, I am famous for multipart questions) does anyone have a strong recommendation for a brand of snorkel gear that's good for beginner/ occasional snorkeler...

We have all done it before but on an excursion  with their equipment...

Being an accountant I want to do the cost analysis...  :) Thanks

I don't believe I've ever seen snorkel equipment for rent on board.  For sale, yes, but not for rent.  If I remember correctly, they have National Geographic brand for sale on board, somewhere around $30-$40.

My husband and I each got a snorkel set from US Divers a couple years ago from Amazon. Both sets have been used a number of times and have held up well. We love snorkeling, so having our own equipment has been a cost saver compared with renting each time. Sometimes we do an excursion (in which case having your own equipment doesn't save you money generally), but sometimes we'll just find a good snorkeling beach on our own if we are familiar with the port. They do take up some room in the suitcase, but, eh, it helps us from overpacking otherwise.

I would buy my own, I prefer my own and a good snorkel will save you from a mouthful of seawater.

This is 30 bucks you will probably pay 10-15 bucks to rent