TA or book direct.

Shawnob815

Hi and sorry if this has been asked a million times before.  I am new at cruising,  and am not sure if I should book direct with a cruise line,  or go through an agency. 

I know that there may be perks, and an agency can do all the leg work,  but should I,  or just call the 800 number. 

Any and all help would be appreciated.  This is for an Alaskan cruise on NCL, August 2020.

TIA.

12 minutes ago, 1025cruise said:

Its really a personal decision.

Exactly.  I personally like to book directly with the cruise line as I have total control of the reservation.  Others prefer to use a TA for some additional perks and backup if they have any problems.  It really comes down to what you're comfortable with.

A TA, but just not any TA.  Not always the one with the best rebates back or OBC either....I have read too many reviews of cruise lines/ships, where the people had no clue what to expect, and ended up being very disappointed, because their expectations far exceeded actuality, then came back and wrote a negative review, when all they needed to do was ask someone familiar for advice. 

You need to utilize a TA either in person, or over the internet that is familiar with the line and ship you plan on cruising on.    Ask questions of them...ie., have YOU personally sailed with this line, and on this ship or a sister ship?   Ask them about setting your expectations concerning what is important to you.  CC is a wonderful tool, but should not be the only one in your toolbox.   An experienced TA makes a big difference, especially when sailing on a new line, or ship or for the first time.   Years ago cruising was simplistic.  Where do you want to go, and for how long.   Today...there are too many variables.  

Edited by Cruseforme

1 hour ago, Shawnob815 said:

Hi and sorry if this has been asked a million times before.  I am new at cruising,  and am not sure if I should book direct with a cruise line,  or go through an agency.