What does "Free Air" include?

98Charlie

I've been researching river cruises for 2022..In looking through the terms and conditions for various river cruises it looks like there may be costs normally affiliated with air fare that are not included in the cruise lines "free air" offers. This comes from Avalon:

"airport taxes and fees, including the September 11th Security fee up to $11.20 per person, passenger facility charges up to $18 per person, Federal domestic flight segment fees up to $4.10 per segment, and U.S. and international arrival and departure and other government-imposed added by the airline and applicable at time of booking;"

It looks like there could be an extra $100 pp for the round trip. Compared to the cost of a cruise this isn't much. But I like to know upfront what the cost would/could be.

Does anyone have any insight?

Charlie

3 hours ago, 98Charlie said:

I've been researching river cruises for 2022..In looking through the terms and conditions for various river cruises it looks like there may be costs normally affiliated with air fare that are not included in the cruise lines "free air" offers. 

Charlie

My Viking 'free' air experience did not have any separate charges such as airport fees, taxes.  And Viking includes free pickup/dropoff from/to ship/departure flight if used Viking air reservation.  There may be smaller airports that incur an extra charge (airlines under Viking contract listed at Viking website)   Viking charges $50-100 pp for custom air where you pick preferred flights and/or offers upgrade option (e.g. premium economy) for fee (e.g. $799 pp).  GOOD LUCK

• Like 1

I think you will find that the meaning of 'free air' varies depending on the cruise line – and sometimes depending on the sailing [or the deal on offer at the time you book].  I don't think there is any 'one size fits all' answer to your question.

• Like 1