Camera/Video equipment for a Panama Canal cruise

MacMadame

I am trying to figure out what to bring for our 2025 Panama Canal Cruise. I plan to take stills but also video possibly for upload to social media. I may print some of the stills (8x10 to 11x16 size)

Background:
I used to be a serious amateur photographer and even did sports photography (and later videography) professionally for a while. That experience really burned me out on photography though (16,000 shots in a day while standing on your feet on a concrete floor will do that. LOL) and I ended up selling all my (Canon) bodies and most of my lenses when I closed my business in 2008. I've recently wanted to get back into it but when I priced a new mirror-less DSLR to go with my Canon 70-200 f2.8L IS USM (and a possibly broken Sigma 120-300mm F2.8 APO DG) lens, I realized I could buy an iPhone 13 Pro for about the same price and the camera is just as good. Also, I admit it, camera technology has really progressed since 2008 (when I closed my business) and I was a bit overwhelmed with all the choices.

So I got the iPhone as I needed a new phone anyway. It works pretty well for a lot of touristy things but I admit I do get frustrated at times to only have a 3x zoom or to not be able to control the depth of field the way I want. Plus I went birding with friends and it was rubbish for that.

So anyway, for this cruise, we are going to:

Cartegena City Tour

Full Transit of the Panama Canal

Panama Canal Train trip with a visit to the new locks observation center

An eco-park in the Rainforest with a tram ride, a butterfly sanctuary, and a botanical garden and another trip to an animal conservative with Scarlet Macaws & Sloths

Mayan Ruins 

Snorkeling in Puerto Vallarta (TBD)