Dining Room Displeasure

Okay, I have hesitated to bring this discussion up because I am sure I am setting myself up for all kinds of comments. But here goes....

My cruising experience is still very limited - 3 cruises (2 Carnival, 1 RCCL). Based on my experience thus far I hate the dining room. There, I said it. Don't shoot me. :( And really it's probably more the dining room staff that is the issue - not the dining room itself.

I am a business professional who gets the opportunity to eat nice meals in nice restaurants and settings frequently. So with that said, I don't want to spend my vacation getting dressed up after a hot day on the beach to go to the dining room. The menu offered there isn't that important to me. I'd rather get a shower, throw on a pair of shorts/t-shirt and head for the WJ. I also don't want to be forced to sit with strangers. It's my family vacation and I want to enjoy dinner with my family and have that one-on-one time.

I have been absolutely harassed now on 3 cruises by the dining room staff because I skip a night or two and eat in the WJ. I don't get it. They still get their tips - I don't jip them from that. When I say harassed, I really mean harassed...like rude comments, over and over and over, threatening to call my room to ask where I am and more. It's ridiculous. Has anyone else experienced this and are you as frustrated as me?

no never. wait staff imo could care less if you eat in mdr or not, especially if you still tip. i have been on cruises where people never eat a single meal in mdr. that is the beauty of choices while cruising.