Port of call cancellation by Holland American Cruise

WeiMin

I am fairly new to cruising having travelled on about 4 cruises in Asia and USA, and like most do not read the terms and conditions offered by the cruise liner.

One of the terms states that the cruise liner has the complete right to cancell any port of call, offering the weakest of reasons. To compensate for the incovenience of cancelling the port of call, all they need to do is to inform you a reason (read below), and then refund you the port charges which you paid up front. They do not even need to offer you telephone calls, wifi, not to mention other monetary compensation for this cancellation. The cruise liner does not lose any money, even saving port charges and fuel in by passing the port.

It happened to me in January 2016 room 3314, when we cruised with Holland American (HAL), Volendam. This cruise had left the Komodo islands and was scheduled to stop at Surabaya, the second largest city in Inodnesia after a sea-day. A bomb blast happened at Jakarta, the capital which is about 750km away and the captain explained that the company took the decision to cancell the port of call because of "safety" reasons due to terrorism threats. This is like saying a bomb threat in New York will have an impact on Bangor Maine in the North East. I had made appointments with family and friends to meet in Surabaya and had to change plans.

It is also interesting to note that I asked fellow cruisers if they had booked a local tour at Surabaya and many said that they did not, comparing this to the ports of call at Semarang, Probolinggo and Bali. Could it be that the cancellation of this port of call was for commercial (not enough shore excursion money to make the call worth while?) reasons and not for safety issues?