Transatlantic cruise options.

Deimos

Hi all

New to the forum and cruising (Yes, I'm a newbie :D)

So, I live in England and have made some great friends in he USA, all of which are based in Sarasota, Florida.

I took my first holiday to Sarasota in January of this year, by plane, stayed a couple of weeks, then returned home.

I'd like to make at least one journey a year back to Sarasota, but, I really don't enjoy flying.

This was my first time on an airplane since I was 5-6 (I'm 35 now).

So I often pondered the idea of taking a cruise across the Atlantic, to Florida.

So here's where I'd like some advice.

I've done google searches for cruises sailing from the UK to Florida/East coast USA, but most results are just generic cruise lines.

The only cruise which seems to make a regular transatlantic journey (but to New York), is the Queen Mary 2.

To be honest, the QM2 seems a little formal for me, I read about the dress code and such and I would much prefer a more....relaxed/informal set up.

There's also the problem of cost in getting back to the UK, as far as I can tell, you pay a small fortune to fly from the USA, back to the UK, it's like 3x the price of a regular return flight from Gatwick to Tampa international.

It'd be cheaper to actually get a cruise back, then fly directly home.

I probably won't be cruising this year, but am seriously tempted to go in January/Feburary, when it's not boiling hot in Florida.

So, I was wondering if anyone had any tips?

Welcome to Cruise Critic. Yes Cunard is the only line that makes regular trips back and forth. Other lines only do it as part of their repositioning, in the spring and the fall. You can get some real good deals on these repositioning cruises so shop around.