Kids Passport Question

amallison

This has probably been asked a million times and I apologize but I'm a newbie to traveling with kids. Is it easier to cruise with a 6 & 8 year old on a passport book or a passport card?

We've never traveled out of the country with the kids and we're getting ready to apply for their passports and I just want to make sure I'm doing the easiest thing. My understanding is that they pretty much function the same but I just wanted to make sure if we get the cards, we'll be okay on our December cruise.

Thanks guys!

This has probably been asked a million times and I apologize but I'm a newbie to traveling with kids. Is it easier to cruise with a 6 & 8 year old on a passport book or a passport card?

We've never traveled out of the country with the kids and we're getting ready to apply for their passports and I just want to make sure I'm doing the easiest thing. My understanding is that they pretty much function the same but I just wanted to make sure if we get the cards, we'll be okay on our December cruise.

Thanks guys!

If you are cruising from the US and doing a closed loop cruise, you can get away with the card. If you are starting your cruise from a different country you need the passport book.

Edited by Longstockingpippi1
sp

I have no idea what you mean by "easier". If you have to take an international airline flight you must have a passport (book). A passport card will not do.

Assuming you're taking a typical Caribbean cruise that begins and ends in the same US port a passport card will suffice. But, if your children are US citizens they can also take that cruise with just a birth certificate issued by a government entity, city state or county. It can't be a hospital-issued certificate. The passport card really doesn't have an additional value for that type of cruise over a birth certificate.

Where are you going? This matters.

The US Passport Book and US Passport Card do NOT function the same. See here: