Looking at Oceania for the first time

Straughn

Based on some very positive comments from a friend who sails on Oceania, I am considering trying it. I am looking specifically at the Riveria with a Caribbean itinerary. I am a long time Celebrity loyalist who really wants a change.   I have some questions. 

Most likely will travel solo. Demographic is retired female.

1. Looking at Concierge veranda. I normally book a Sky Suite on Celebrity, but the veranda cabin seems to have plenty of space. I note on the website deck plans that some cabins are marked with a star, indicating “special features.” What are those features? Recommended cabin locations  or ones to avoid? 

2. As a solo, will I have any difficulties getting a table for one? If I meet folks on the ship, and we decide to dine together, that is terrific. What I don’t want is to be randomly assigned to a table with passengers who may, or, may not, want me there. (I have had some really bad experiences with this.)

3. Does Oceania have any solo get togethers?

4. Any advice, guidance, warnings, useful info you may care to share would be most welcome. It has been years since I have sailed on a “new to me” cruise line.

Thanks.

You won't be assigned a time or table for meals.  If you want to dine alone you can; if you want company, you can have it.  In booking specialty reservations I would suggest that you put down "sharing".  If you don't know anyone from your roll call that you think you might want to join (and I use the word "know" rather loosely) they will put you at a table with others.  If in roll call discussions you find some people you'd like to have join you, you can all book a table together.

In the Grand Dining Room you will tell the maitre d' if you want to share or not.  Again, they will put people together -- generally as they arrive since they don't want people sitting at an empty table for very long!