International date line Problem??

LynnTTT

I'm CONFUSED and also feeling very stupid,  Our Costa cruise isn't showing the intinerary by actual calendar date, but by day of the cruise.  So day 1 is a Sunday and I'm filling in a calendar.

I get to Rarotonga in the Cook Islands  which is the 47th day.  That's Feb 18

Then we cruise for 5 days ( 19,20,21,22, 23) until we get to Tauranga NZ.  So that day is February 24, right?

I've been looking at times right now and up thru the Cook Islands, it is today (Saturday) and then in NZ it's Sunday.

I want to book some excursions but want to make sure I have the days correct.  Actually, we get free excursions in NZ and Australia.  Maybe they're afraid we'll disappear into the Twilight Zone.:-) 

Suggestions?  Calm me down  :')

Well, I think I figured out that we don't lose a day.   But I still don't understand it!!

I was a student in North Carolina when they first adopted Daylight Saving Time.  I had a hard time getting people to understand that " No, days won't be only 23 hours long the future.  When you go to bed at 2:00 (hey, it was college) just move your clock to 

3:00 AM, then when you wake up, just carry on"

19 hours ago, LynnTTT said:

I'm CONFUSED and also feeling very stupid,  Our Costa cruise isn't showing the intinerary by actual calendar date, but by day of the cruise.  So day 1 is a Sunday and I'm filling in a calendar.

I get to Rarotonga in the Cook Islands  which is the 47th day.  That's Feb 18

Then we cruise for 5 days ( 19,20,21,22, 23) until we get to Tauranga NZ.  So that day is February 24, right?

I've been looking at times right now and up thru the Cook Islands, it is today (Saturday) and then in NZ it's Sunday.

I want to book some excursions but want to make sure I have the days correct.  Actually, we get free excursions in NZ and Australia.  Maybe they're afraid we'll disappear into the Twilight Zone.:-) 

Suggestions?  Calm me down  :')