Flying in day of cruise - a cautionary tale

taba

Never run with scissors, never take a 3 hour tour, and never fly in the day of the cruise. 

I had to work on the day before the cruise, so I scheduled our flight to FLL for the day of the cruise. I have never done that before, because you never know when a flight will be delayed.

We had to be on board the ship by 4:00. The plane was scheduled to land at 2:36. That gave me 20 minutes to pick up luggage, 20 minutes to get to the ship, 10 minutes to check in at the port  and 30 minutes of buffer in case anything happened. 

The weather was good, so the plane left on time. We landed at 2:30. We checked in with the HAL transfer people and then we grabbed our bags at 2:50. So far so good.We were walking to the bus, and it left without us at 3:00. Panic begins. Another bus shows up at 3:25. We arrive at the port at 3:35. Then we're in line for security. Then another line to check passports. At 3:45 we're checking in at desk. At 3:50 we're on the ship with 10 minutes to spare. At 4:00 we're at the muster drill. 

Next time I'll fly in a day early. 

I did have insurance and used Flightease.
  • Like 2

We only did it once. Before we even left Toronto they had to change planes, so well over an hour behind before take off, in Chicago that plane had problems, we now had to find the new gate for departure. Another long delay getting the luggage changed to the new plane, we're really late now. When we got to Seattle we're now a couple of hours late, it's a good thing almost the entire aircraft was made up of passengers joining ships. They held both ships for all the late arrivals. Now it's at least one if not two days early.

• Like 1

Glad you made the cruise.  That is too close for comfort.

In all the many cruises we have done, we have only flown in once on the day of departure.  But our ship was scheduled to leave Sam Juan at 11 PM.  Had no problems as we arrived at the ship by 1 PM.