What I don’t understand about Celebrity & surge protection

cruisestitch

Here’s something I have never understood.

it’s well known that devices with surge protection are fire hazards

so why, since Celebrity has TWO separate sections in the FAQ regarding “prohibited items” and “what not to bring” why is there no mention of surge suppressors?

and why is the fire danger not spelled out clearly on one’s booking confirmation?

Maybe because they prohibit bringing on extension cords.  It seems that the majority are wanting to bring on a extension cord with multiple outlets., most of the new ones come with a surge protector.  Eliminating all extension cords eliminates surge protectors.  

• Like 1

1 hour ago, cruisestitch said:

it’s well known that devices with surge protection are fire hazards

I wouldn't say this is true. I'm not an electrician and I knew nothing about surge protectors until I started reading cruise boards. I have carried extension cords (non-surge protected) on board ships of other lines with never an issue. Now with USB adapters, faster charging, and better batteries, I don't do it because I don't need them.

However, I wouldn't say the average person, even the average cruiser, knows that surge protectors are fire hazards or even prohibited.

• Thanks 1

1 hour ago, jelayne said:

Maybe because they prohibit bringing on extension cords.  It seems that the majority are wanting to bring on a extension cord with multiple outlets., most of the new ones come with a surge protector.  Eliminating all extension cords eliminates surge protectors.  

For those who appreciate the distinction, adding "power strips" might go a long way toward avoiding the confusion.

I suspect they don't go into detail because most people are neither interested in, nor keen to understand the difference between delta and wye electrical circuits and outlets.  Although to canderson's point, calling out surge protectors seems simple enough. 

1 hour ago, techteach said: