Old HAL vs New HAL....or just HAL evolving

CNSJ

I (we) just reached 4 star Mariner on last cruise, so to many of you I am still a HAL newbie, but I thought I might comment on the non-stop bashing of Holland America.  Yes, things change over time.  Even in the short ten years we have been regular cruisers, I have seen change.  Some good, some not so good.  My DW and I just retired and are around 60. 

While little things like chocolates every night, slippers (most of us don't wear), and a well dressed man ringing dinner chimes may be important to many, I try to focus on the things that are most important (at least to me).  In these areas I think HAL has done very well, and continues to do well.  I try to keep in mind that the cruise industry just went through the once in a hundred years' shock with COVID.   I am confident that HAL does surveys and just just cut things willy nilly.  For those that complain about a charge for a second entree in the Pinnacle, I ask....What would your favorite restaurant at home do if you asked for two steaks?  Don't charge me more for my cruise because you want two appetizers and two nice steaks at dinner.  

To me, clean, safe ships with great service are the reasons I have sailed with HAL on 10 of my last 13 cruises.  I have sailed on R-class, Vista Class, Signature, Pinnacle Class.  Each has benefits over the others depending on what you are looking for.  I think Signature is the best overall due to the Promenade being more walkable. Otherwise Pinnacle class wins hands down. 

I'll focus on what's gotten better in the past ten years for a minute (at least in my opinion):

•       Much better Stateroom TV with on demand movies, interactive info, menus, and access to your account.
  •      Pinnacle class ships with many more dining options and better venues for music events.
  •      Room service still included for breakfast and most times (and you can order off MDR menu) - Celebrity and others charge for Room Service now all day.