Essiesmom sails Seaside 8/13 and 8/17, hopefully live…

Essiesmom

LauraS
This post was recognized by LauraS!

"Thank you for sharing your time at sea with everyone at Cruise Critic. Please consider submitting it to the site for publication as well: Click: Write a Review on any page!"

Essiesmom was awarded the badge '"Live from...."'

I’ve never done a ‘live from’ on CC, although I have kept live journals on other cruise forums.  Keeping a journal helps me to remember, distinguish one cruise from another.

A bit about me.  My non-username is Carolyn, when there are multiple Carolyn’s I can be Carolyn Jane, or CJ.  I am a little old lady, turned 79 earlier this year.  I have over 50 cruises, the earliest in 1972/73.  Then there was a gap until 1999.  I am a retired registered nurse, specialized in maternal child health.  Also retired military.  I mixed sailing solo with sailing with my sister, and after she retired we always sailed together.  I lost her early last year, so I am slowly easing back into sailing solo.

One of the problems I have encountered is that lines are reluctant to book solos.  I also prefer to be able to drive to the port.  Living about 35 miles SW of Savannah, that means Jacksonville or Port Canaveral.   So, this morning I left my house a few minutes after 9am.  I drove the back roads until I got onto I95.  I hate the interstate and take the back roads when I can.  I have at times driven all the way to JAX on US17.  I pulled off at the Florida welcome center to check the texts that had been coming, then continued to JAX and took the east I295 bypass.  Traffic was pretty good, just one non-sensical slowdown when two Sheriff vehicles had a truck pulled over.