SS Air Bombshell--Absolute Must Read

chrism23

Fellow Travelers.   

I do not know if this topic has been previously addressed  I looked through the topic heading and didn't see one that would be relevant. So here goes.  Yesterday I got an email from my cruise consultant that said he-meaning all cruise consultants, will no longer be handling air reservations.  They have established a direct line into what must be an expanded air department, and you book your air directly through them.  Payment matters are still to be handled by your cruise consultant.  

This to me is a MAJOR change in how SS does business.  I have been sailing SS for 12 years, 10 cruises,  and have had 2 great cruise consultants who I have always relied on to book my flights-and to frequently run interference for me with the air department.  (This lead me to start a topic about 2 years ago entitled "Silversea Air screws up Again"  which had 100's of comments and views).  Having my cruise consultant book air was an essential part of what I regard as Silverssea's stellar services.  Call it one stop shopping.  Now I find out I have to deal with another individual in another department, explaining what I want  all over again and plod through what is available and what is not.  As a reminder what prompted my previous blow up with SS Air was when they booked me flying from Dublin to Boston via Rotterdam.  Anyhow.  

On the positive side yesterday I used their new department, got an agent who had the patience of a saint, and we worked out the air from NYC to Athens and Venice to NYC for a Greece trip I have scheduled for August.  I always look in advance at flights that are available on the days and times I want to have that all ready when talking to SS,  She got me exactly what I wanted, non-stop, business class, on the days I wanted.   So to ever that woman was, a profound thank you.  But the system seems newish, she had to talk to her manager a few times, and seemed slightly unsure of herself.