Some information I learned about Oceania today

DrivesLikeMario

I'm new to Oceania and did a training class today. I thought other newbies to the line might be interested to read some facts that I learned:

The 3 Oceania ships are regularly dry-docked every 12-14 months. This is quite unusual. Most cruise lines wait quite a bit longer than that.

Dining is what Oceania considers to be it's hallmark.

There are no surcharges for any of the 4 restaurants onboard.

Oceania spends much more on food costs (buying higher quality foods) than the other cruise lines.

They place themselves a step above Princess, HAL and Celebrity, but not quite at the luxury level.

There is no formal attire required, but passengers can dress up if they so chose. The majority of passengers chose to dress in resort-casual attire for dinner.

They schedule at least 3 lecturers per sailing.

They have 12-piece orchestras, but no broadway-type shows. (more caberet-type instead).

They are on their 5th generation of memory foam mattresses since the company began 5 years ago.

On most cruises, the average passenger age is 68-69 years old. Overall, the average passenger age range is 55+ yrs. old.

The average passenger income is $150,000+ and most are urban dwellers.

The average passenger is well-educated, has traveled the world and been on many cruises including those on HAL, Princess, Celebrity and Crystal.

Lately, Oceania has been getting a lot of Princess suite passengers switching over to Oceania. (I thought this was very accurate of what I've seen too.)

Oceania says their ships are not kid-friendly. There are no dedicated children's programs, no dedicated childrens or teens areas.

The Marina is still due out in Sept. of 2010 and will start it's itineraries in Europe, then will likely be sent to the Caribbean for the winter of 2010-2011. It will have 6 main restaurants, a culinary school, 1252 pasengers and a staff of 780.

New schedules come out on April 1st.

:)

:)

WOW!!