Tipping for Kids

skudy

The service charge isn't a tip per say. It's like a resort fee. It supports all of the back office staff who clean up, wash sheets etc etc. Kids club staff are paid a better wage and don't offer service to everyone on the ship so they're not part of the service charge.

So while yes, your kids are small, they still take the same amount of support and their sheets still need washed, their plates still need cleaned etc.

What is the protocol for tipping for kids? I will be with 3 youngsters plus my spouse. We really don't want to tip $60 per day, and I would really like some of that money to go to the kids club staff.

We haven't cruised NCL yet, but I've been cruising with DD (who is now 19) since she was 21 months old and I've always been so impressed with the service and attention she's received. The crew has always treated her like a princess and I've always tipped at least the suggested amount and tipped the kid's club staff in addition. It's been a great way to teach DD about tipping--she was the one who always gave the camp staff their tip since she was the one who received the service.

DD receives all the services I do--she's served in the restaurants, her cabin is cleaned, etc., so I wouldn't even consider not tipping for that service. I know it's expensive when you have three kids, but IMO that's part of the cost of cruising.

Will your kids be eating? Using bedding? Towels? Bathrooms? If yes, then they have people waiting on them, so they should be tipped. You are welcome to tip the kids club staff as well. If you use the spa, that staff also expects gratuities, as do the luggage handlers, room service waiters. Any drinks automatically get the gratuity added.

I, too, have three children. We always paid for 5 people, because kids are people too.