Ocean Princess - Cabin Advise

tcdcruiser

Planning on a 14 day port intensive curise on the Ocean Princess. This will be our first small ship experience. Have ejoyed many Balcony and Mini Suites cabins on the Grand Class ships, and I'm considering a Balcony midship cabin on the Ocean Princess.

Any advice about cabins, categories, etc on the Ocean Princess would be appreciated. Advice about cabins to avoid would also appreciate.

Also, does the Ocean Princess rock and roll a bit more at sea due to its smaller tonnage?

As always - thanks to all in advace.

I'm new to the OP also, but what I found out while researching cabin locations is that if you want an open balcony front with metal rails vs. one that has a solid metal sheet, go for Cat. BC cabins on Deck 7. The Cat. BB ones that are midship have the full metal balcony front and you can't see through that when you're sitting on the balcony. With the metal railings, you can look through to see the ocean when sitting down. Just depends on what your preference is.

Also, does the Ocean Princess rock and roll a bit more at sea due to its smaller tonnage?
The Ocean Princess has stablizers just as the larger ships do which help control side-to-side movement. No matter the size of the ship, there's little that can be done to control up/down forward-to-aft movement. Larger ships can perhaps span the distance between waves but smaller ships cut through them better. On the other hand, having fewer decks means they are less susceptible to wind. There is probably more movement on a smaller ship but as with anything else, it depends on the ship's speed and direction, wave height and direction, current speed and direction, wind speed and direction, etc.

The majority of balcony cabins on these ships have the full sheet metal (no bars).

????

The majority of the balcony cabins on the Ocean Princess are as on the picture below.