Italian pizza makers gone?

4 years ago, I sailed on the Island P. on a short repo cruise. The pizza was wonderful and it was pretty much all made by an older Italian piiza maker by trade. He was from Bari and had been recruited by the Hotel Director (also Italian and may have been from Bari).

Fast forward to this spring, sailed on the Star P. on the same route. No Italian pizza maker but a couple of Filipinos instead. They haven't made a career making pizza and while the pizza wasn't bad, it wasn't superb.

Just wondering if Princess is removing the Italian pizza makers and replacing them with lower-wage workers? The pizzerias were on the pool deck and not in the fancy pizzeria some ships are said to be getting/have.

4 years ago, I sailed on the Island P. on a short repo cruise. The pizza was wonderful and it was pretty much all made by an older Italian piiza maker by trade. He was from Bari and had been recruited by the Hotel Director (also Italian and may have been from Bari).

Fast forward to this spring, sailed on the Star P. on the same route. No Italian pizza maker but a couple of Filipinos instead. They haven't made a career making pizza and while the pizza wasn't bad, it wasn't superb.

Just wondering if Princess is removing the Italian pizza makers and replacing them with lower-wage workers? The pizzerias were on the pool deck and not in the fancy pizzeria some ships are said to be getting/have.

I'm not convinced one must be Italian to make a good pizza. (Is this thread related to the one about the departing pizza guy?)

I'm not convinced one must be Italian to make a good pizza. (Is this thread related to the one about the departing pizza guy?)