People who have been to Rome

txflood33

wife and I will be on a cruise in Oct that starts in Rome. We will be landing at noon local time on Sunday and the cruise leaves at 5:00pm on Mon.

I'm kind of taking Monday out of the picture for sight seeing because checkout is at noon and then we have to get to the boat and all of those shenanigans. So, based on that, how much will we get to see?

I think the Colosseum is the biggie and I can't imagine not having enough time to see it.....is it a tour? Is it like the Grand Canyon where you walk up and gaze at it's splendor and then check it off the list?

I'm not sure how far apart things are....we are staying at the Crown Plaza if that helps. Vatican City? Sistine Chapel? Trevi Fountain? Too much?

Are these walking places? Cabs? Subway? Horseback? :D

Hi. I'll try to answer some of your questions, but I've only been to Rome 3 times, so I'm no expert. You say you are getting to Rome about noon. You will be jet-lagged if you are coming from the US. There is a drive into central Rome from the airport and then a long ride from Rome to the port. I would make arrangements with a private tour company, such as romeinlimo, for airport pick up, tour of Rome and then to your hotel. You could reasonably tour the Collesium (sp), outside only of the Vatican, the Forum area and maybe some other sites, but these would only be drive-bys. The Collesium tour takes about 60-90 minutes if you rush. No way to go inside Vatican IMHO. If you go to the romeinlimo site, they have tour info and contact info. They will tailor a tour so you can see as much as possible in a short time. They use Mercedes sedans for up to 4, and minivans for larger groups.

Good luck! You will wish you had more time. We've done Rome in a day, Rome in 3 days and Rome in 6 days. We always wished we had more time.

Margee

Horseback would raise a few eyebrows, plus you can't get a decent sized horse in a carry on.