Profitability of Celebrity Cruises?

Quo Vadis?

Is there any source that gives a breakdown of the profitability of the various subsidiaries of RCCL.  I'm just curious if Royal would try to sell some cruise ships or a division to keep the rest of the fleet afloat?

I can't see it anywhere on their P & L reporting.  They would not be required to break out that information so I would guess they would not.

Agree Azamara likely the biggest profit driver as a percentage, but not total.

I know of a owner of a B&B in Western North Carolina that used to work in a management position for RCCL at the headquarters in Miami. He is a chef by trade and helped develop the menus. I had him cater an affair for us a year ago in one of the B&B dining rooms. Learning that we cruised a lot on Celebrity he laughed and said: "Royal makes the money and Celebrity spends it"

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

On 4/18/2020 at 11:44 AM, Argo. said:

Is there any source that gives a breakdown of the profitability of the various subsidiaries of RCCL.  I'm just curious if Royal would try to sell some cruise ships or a division to keep the rest of the fleet afloat?

Royal releases virtually no division level information other than passenger counts.  Depending on how the parent company allocates items like interest expense and corporate overhead X's profitability is pretty much whatever parent RCCI wants to show.

I've never seen a breakdown of RCL by subsidiary.    I would have to say that as a whole RCL has been very profitable.  Just look at Fain's Salary and Compensation Package of $12 Million a year.  Much of that was a performance package.

1 hour ago, Jim_Iain said:

I've never seen a breakdown of RCL by subsidiary.    I would have to say that as a whole RCL has been very profitable.  Just look at Fain's Salary and Compensation Package of $12 Million a year.  Much of that was a performance package.