AQ class cruisers - tell me about your spa concierge

Tao Diva

My DD and I are both into new-age and holistic healing (I'm a RN nurse educator, herbalist and trainer while she is a Reiki practitioner and massage therapist.) We are looking to treat ourselves to a health and spa cruise to commune with mother ocean and be on the receiving side of some spa treatments. 

My first thought was a Celebrity cruise in Aqua Class. In addition to indulging in some self-care using the thermal suite and dining in BLU, I would like to indulge in some body treatments. Tell me how the spa concierge works. Do I give them a list of the treatments I'd like and just let them schedule me around my shore excursions, mealtimes, and shows? Or do I arrange my own schedule and tell them when I want this or that? What if something else comes up that I'd like to see or do? Will the concierge adjust my appointments for me? I know a tip is added to the treatments themselves, but when and how should I tip the concierge and what is the customary gratuity? Do I arrange my spa treatment schedule through the concierge in advance on the first day or one day at a time while onboard? I've had spa treatments on cruise ships before but this will be my first Celebrity cruise and my first time sailing is a special spa-oriented stateroom class. 

I'd really like to hear from Aqua-cruisers about their spa experiences and their relationship with the spa concierge. 

Thank you.

Our first time sailing on Celebrity was in AQ because I read that it was supposed to be a for those that want a healthier cruising experience.  

We enjoyed AQ but didn’t find it to be anything healthier.   It was an enjoyable experience with the shower panel,  use of the Persian Gardens and some little extra added perks in the cabin.