anyone in favor of eliminating all status programs

luckyinpa

I've yet to find a cruise loyalty program that actually offers anything of value without having to spend upwards of $200,000 US in cruises with them first.  10% off Wifi if you cruise with us ten times .... t h a n k s

• Like 3
  • Haha 1

That's a hot take. I don't cruise that often and have zero loyalty, but I understand people getting perks and having that loyalty. I travel for a living so I DO have loyalty with American Airlines/OneWorld, Hilton, and National Car Rental, so I totally get the perks of status and loyalty when it comes to travel...it's great. Can't fault people who cruise a lot, are loyal, and find status/perks beneficial. 

As mentioned earlier - don't like it? Don't do it. Nobody is making anyone gain/build loyalty status. But it's nice to be there for those who want it. 

Edited by Zach1213
  • Like 2

It seems to be an integral part of just about all businesses these days.  I find MSC very interesting in that they formally publicize a "status matching" program to get people to switch and try their line. 

• Like 1

I agree that the programs are nice and should continue. My issue is the poster that begins with:

"I am Gold / Diamond / Elite / Rare Earth" with XYZ Cruise line. These people seem to think they shouldn't have to see us lowly once or twice a year cruiser.

• Like 1

They are not status programs. They are loyalty programs. I personally don’t have any loyalty to any particular  cruise lines but I  I don’t and won’t reject any perks they hand out.  I also don’t see anything objectionable about them. I am not in favor of eliminating them although I have never booked because of them. I am humored by passengers who act like the loyalty programs are status programs but hey if it floats their boat to wear Pinnacle Pins or the like they did earn them.  . 

• Like 4

FWIW: “Loyalty” and “Preference” are vastly different things.